Tags

, , , ,

For once the weatherman was right. He predicted the Kansas City area would get 6 to 12 inches of snow. Sure enough, we got a foot of snow. Typically, the weatherman overestimates how much snow we’ll get. He’ll predict 5 inches of snow and we’ll get 1 inch, if any. But as we found out, this storm was different. The area (and the state, for that matter) experienced 10 to 12 inches or more of snowfall by early afternoon. The airport shut down. People left their stranded cars on the highway. And, Kansas and Missouri both declared a state of emergency.

Thankfully, I didn’t have to step foot outside my nice warm house. I only opened doors long enough to snap some photos.

Our snowy backyard.

Our snowy backyard.

Another view of the backyard

Another view of the snowy backyard.

Our office had sent out a couple of emails Wednesday to say that they valued our safety and to stay and work from home on Thursday. I came to find out that was a good thing and a bad thing. Good because I didn’t have to drive in the snow, but bad because some of my friends got the entire day off — work-free. I got to read all about it on Facebook. I was super jealous at first, but as the day continued, I came to terms with it. I sat and worked on the couch all day with a sherpa-lined blanket on me and Dexter beside me. So don’t feel too bad for me. :) David wasn’t as lucky as I was. He had to get out in the elements. He shoveled the driveway and helped dig out a car that had slid by our curb.

Dexter enjoyed the snow. He went in and out all day. He is so cute, but he is super cute in the snow. You know what that means? I took lots of pictures of him. I love him to pieces, so you better get used to all the pictures now because you’ll be seeing him in many future posts.

See, I told you he was cute!

See, I told you he was cute!

Dexter checking out what is going on outside.

Dexter checking out what is going on outside.

Now you see how stinkin' adorable he is in the snow. :)

Now you see how stinkin’ adorable he is in the snow. :)

 

OK, I know this is an unattractive angle, but it's to show how he was getting around in the snow. He had to bound because the snow was at least midway up his legs.

OK, I know this is an unattractive angle, but it’s to show how he was getting around in the snow. He had to bound because the snow was at least midway up his legs.

I couldn't resist one more photo!

I couldn’t resist one more photo!

Since everyone was working from home today, it made our VPN/server super slow. While I was waiting for things to load, my iPad got lots of attention. After all, I didn’t want to do anything else on my computer to slow it down anymore. Oh, and toward the end of the workday, I may or may not have dozed off for 15 minutes. :) I took advantage of the little perks of a working from home snow day.

Tonight David and I opened and finished a bottle of wine and watched three episodes of Lost. Solid evening I’d say.

David wants to trek to the office tomorrow if possible. We’ll see how the roads are tomorrow morning.

If it snowed by you, stay safe!

