Tags

, , ,

Hi, all!

I hope you all had a fabulous weekend. I know I sure did. I got to see the super talented a cappella group Pentatonix Saturday night at the Midland Theater in downtown Kansas City.

(Image from singers.com)

(Image from singers.com)

I first saw the group of five on the last season of NBC’s The Sing-Off. (They didn’t have a season this year, which made me sad. :( ) Each season, 10 to 16 groups competed for the title of best a cappella group. 98 degrees band member Nick Lachey hosted, while Ben Folds of Ben Folds Five, Shawn Stockman of Boyz II Men, and Sara Bareilles judged the groups. (Sara Bareilles took the place of previous judge Nicole Scherzinger of the Pussycat Dolls.) Each night the a cappella groups faced a different challenge. For example, one night could be all about guilty pleasure songs while the next was dedicated to songs of the 60s.

Pentatonix won Season 3 of The Sing-Off, which means they are one of the best a cappella groups out there.

That being said, I was looking forward to their show. I had high hopes that it would be an extended version of what they did on the The Sing-Off: singing covers and complemented them with choreography. So, after their show on Saturday was all said and done, I left somewhat disappointed.

But first… the good stuff.

I enjoyed the first half of their set the best. They opened with “Save the World / Don’t You Worry Child”, then followed with “Triftshop,” “Video Killed the Radio Star,” “OMG,” “As Long as You Love Me / Wide Awake,” and “Telephone.” I was pleased they sang “Video Killed the Radio Star” — it was the best song they performed on The Sing-Off.

My absolute favorite part of the show came next. Kevin, the beatboxer in the group, cello-boxed. Don’t worry, you read that correctly. He cello-boxed. He beatboxed while he played the cello. Check it out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfbsFEvauTI. It’ll blow your mind.

He wasn’t the only one who had a special talent in the group. Avi, the bass in the group, can overtone sing / throat sing — meaning he can sing two notes at the same time. Want to see what I mean? See him demonstrate it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XUMUEoK-AaY.

The show continued on with “Radioactive,” “Nature Boy” from Moulin Rouge, and Avi singing the theme from The Hobbit. Then, we got to participate. Avi and Kevin split us up into three sections and gave us a part. Together, we made our own a cappella song. It’s definitely harder than you think!

The sweetest moment of the show (one that had me “aw”-ing several times) was when they brought a girl up on stage. She was so excited and happy… so so cute. They had her sit in a chair and then they sang “Let’s Get it On.” Ha! Although she got to be close to the group, I didn’t envy her at all. Luckily, they were goofy throughout the whole song, but nevertheless, it would still be awkward to sit up there.

They finished up the show with a song they wrote and “Starships.” Then, sang “We are Young” for their encore.

Now, why was I disappointed?

While I enjoyed listening to them talk between songs, I also felt it almost got excessive — like they were killing time. I understood Kirstie had laryngitis (thank you for still performing!) and they had to alter the show to cater to her, but I wanted to hear more music. And remember how I wanted to see choreography with their songs? It only happened with one or two of them.

Overall, I enjoyed the show. I was just greedy and wanted more. If you like aca-awesome a cappella music, I definitely suggest you check them out!

Question for you:
1. Have you seen The Sing-Off? If so, which group was your favorite?

