Hello again and welcome back! Ready for Part 2? Let’s jump right into it.

Sunday was as full of activity as Saturday was. It all started with a wonderful brunch. We asked Siri where we could find brunch. From the list, we chose to go to Half & Half, which wasn’t too far from our hotel.

I loved everything about the restaurant. The decor. The coffee mugs. The design of the menu. The food. While we waited for our table, one of the servers passed out doughnuts to some of us. They were good, but didn’t necessarily hit the spot. They were covered in cinnamon and sugar and were slightly crispy on the outside, while the inside was warm and had hints of citrus.

We ended up sitting at a community table. It was David and I and two other girls. I was up for talking, but they didn’t seem up for it. Fine by me.

St.LouisTrip9

Ampersand mug with David’s Irish coffee, my mimosa, and the super cute menu.

David got the blackberry french toast that had mascarpone in it. Talk about rich!

St.LouisTrip10

He enjoyed it, but liked his meal at Schlafly Bottleworks much better. I can’t blame him. Brunch is more my thing.

I ordered a dish called Cornbread & Chorizo. It was definitely the best meal I had while we were in town.

St.LouisTrip11

It was a scoop of chorizo with red onions and cilantro, two scrambled eggs on top (the menu has it paired with two sunny side up eggs, but I only eat scrambled eggs), and a side of seasoned potatoes and cornbread. You’d be surprised how much sweetness the cornbread adds to the meal. Everything added something to the wonderful flavor combination of the dish — it was fantastic!

Once we had our fill, we headed to the arch.

St.LouisTrip12

Quaint little path from the shops/restaurants to the small parking lot behind them.

It rained on the way there, but thankfully once we got there, it had tapered off to a mist. Since the weather wasn’t ideal and it was a Sunday, we got right into the Jefferson National Expansion Museum, which is underneath the Gateway Arch. And on top of that, we got a spot on one of the trams that takes you up into the arch right away. The guy at the counter asked, “Do you want to go up now?” We took him up on the offer. While we were paying, I heard the words heights and claustrophobia. I started to get uneasy. I didn’t used to have a problem with heights. I think my opinion of them has changed slightly over the past couple of years. Same goes with claustrophobia. Despite my nerves, we made our way to the south tram and stood in front of door 5.

The door was only 4 and a half feet tall.

The door was only 4 and a half feet tall.

The pods were quite small. But David and I made the most of it. I’m thankful we didn’t have to share a pod with anyone.

St.LouisTrip15

St.LouisTrip14

In the end, I actually thought the ride up to the top and back down was fun.

The view from the top was really cool.

St.LouisTrip17

St.LouisTrip19

St.LouisTrip18

It was a little awkward to look out. You had to lean over at a 45-degree angle to see out the windows.

Once we got back down to the bottom of the arch, we checked out the Museum of Westward Expansion.

St.LouisTrip20

I’m not a huge history fan, but I found this interesting to walk through. They broke it out by president (what happened during his term) and had lots of pictures, artifacts, and what we call in the journalism field pull-out quotes. I appreciated the organization of it.

St.LouisTrip21

Boat made from a hide. Don’t cha see the tail?

Before we left the area completely, we of course had to get all sorts of photos of the arch and with the arch.

St.LouisTrip26

St.LouisTrip22

St.LouisTrip24

St.LouisTrip23

St.LouisTrip25

St.LouisTrip27

This is actually a real person, not a statue.

Turns out this guy is there every Sunday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., making sure the right word is spread (the word of God). He seemed genuine and not as over the top as some can be.

Then the arch from a distance:

St.LouisTrip29

St.LouisTrip28

It was a great 24ish hour trip. If you ever have the chance to get out and take a quick trip someplace, do it! You’ll have so much fun. On the way back home, David and I were already brainstorming other places that were close enough for another weekend trip.

Question for you:
1. What was the quickest trip you’ve ever taken?

