Today was a great day. It was one of those days where you think, “Hey, this is what it’s all about.” I enjoyed the little things. Everything went according to plan. I felt connected to people.

This morning I woke up earlier than normal (and on my own), which was fine. I didn’t have any nightmares last night. Big plus. I had a doozy of one Monday night. You know, the kind where you wake up shaking. Not cool. (Side note: I wish there was a way you could avoid nightmares completely.)

Since I was up early and I was working from home today, I decided to take the opportunity to work out. Whaaaat?! Not like me at all. But I enjoyed it. It was nice to get up and moving all before breakfast. I did the Pinterest workout I posted awhile back. The one where I was sore for days. I figured it would be good because I don’t know if I’ll be able to squeeze in a workout this holiday weekend. (David and I will be traveling to Michigan.)

After getting ready for the day, I headed to Toyota to get the oil changed in the Rav 4 in preparation for the Michigan trip this weekend. I brought work along to do while I waited. Then I figured since I was out and about, I should do something a little out of the ordinary. Just because I could. I decided to head to Black Dog Coffeehouse to work some more. It’s not far from our house, but we usually opt for Starbucks because it’s closer and we earn free drinks there. But today, it was Black Dog. Black Dog was our high school hangout spot. Lots of good memories there. I got a Haystack, just like the old days. Only this time I got it hot instead of blended. I figured that would be more grown-up. ;) I had a great time people watching. Some lady just randomly asked me what I was working on. We only exchanged a couple of sentences, but you don’t encounter that much these days. Conversations with strangers. I saw someone I knew, too. We went to the same high school and we played on the same soccer team together. Our catch-up was short, but sweet. Hi, Becca! :)

Once I left there, I ran a quick errand to the bank and came home. I finished out the afternoon with Dexter curled up next to me on the couch while I was working.

Oh yes, as I mentioned above, David and I are heading to the little town of Sandusky, Mich. to attend his grandmother’s memorial service. I’m going to cry. I just know it. She was a fantastic lady. I remember when David first talked about her and warned me that she could be intimidating. Thanks, honey. I need to win her over and you tell me that?! But it all worked out. Of course.

Mandy and David451

She was good storyteller. We heard about the time she hitchhiked. She told us how she knew the family who operated the lighthouse in Ludington (also in Michigan) and would go to their place for dinner occasionally. She wrote. Which breaks my heart in a good way (if that makes sense). When we attended her memorial service at her retirement community, someone mentioned to me that one of her favorite moments was shopping for what she was going to wear (see above) to David and I’s wedding with me and David. What I’m trying to say is that she was a wonderful lady and I’m so thankful I got to meet her and make memories with her.

What does this all have to do with today? Well, I needed something to wear to the service this weekend, so David and I popped into the mall real quick to find something. I picked up a cute and super soft sweater at Express.

As we were walking through Barnes and Noble to get to the car, this lady said she liked my hoodie and asked if I really got it in Chicago. I told her no, it was just from a Victoria’s Secret here. I didn’t travel anywhere to get it. Before I knew it, David and I had talked to this young couple for 5 minutes or more. We talked about where we worked, where we lived, where we went to school. Turns out she went to Pitt State, graduated the same year as us, and knew one of my friends. And her Mom used to work for ATI (where I work). Small world. Again, refreshing to get into these random conversations with strangers.

We finally stepped foot out of the mall and I see someone else I know! Twice in a day. I ran into my friend Sarah from middle school and high school. We were in middle school choir together and I always played with her curly hair. It was fun to quickly catch up. She said she reads this here blog. Best. Feeling. Ever. Thank you, Sarah!

Now I’m home and writing this all down for you. I hope you had a lovely day, too. If you didn’t, I hope you have had days like I’ve had today — where you enjoy people’s company and this life you live.

Questions for you:
     1. How are you? How is your day going? Or if you’re reading this late, how did your day go?
     2. Do you ever have those days where you think it’s so good to be alive? Those simple and wonderful ones?

