Tags

, , , ,

Guys, I cooked last night! Aren’t you impressed?! Well, I am. Because, you see, more often than not David and I decide on one of two options: 1. We take a couple of tilapia filets out of the freezer, dethaw them, put some seasoning on them, and bake them or 2. We call it a “fend for yourself” night and make whatever we want. (I’ve been known to have cereal. Yes, just call me fancy pants.)

Thankfully, everything worked out well last night and we were able to throw something better together. I wasn’t starving when I got home from work, so I had the mental capacity to think through some options. Wednesday night we bought one of those rotisserie chickens from Costco and had that for dinner along with some broccoli. (So maybe we do eat other things besides tilapia…) We had some leftover chicken, so I had originally wanted to make white chicken chili, but alas, most recipes call for it to simmer for an hour or more. Ain’t nobody got time for that on a weeknight. BUT, I did find a white chicken chili soup recipe on Pinterest that only had to simmer 20 to 30 minutes. I was sold!

David and I traveled to the grocery store to pick up the ingredients and came home with some other items. (Somehow eggnog ended up in our cart, yuck. I don’t know how David drinks the stuff. It grosses me out.). It’s like going to Target, you never get out of the store with just what’s on your list.

I found this recipe on Pinterest, but follow this link and it’ll take you to the cute little blog that created the recipe and posted about it first. This delicious soup is so easy to make and you’ll have leftovers the next day for lunch! I highly recommend it as we move into the colder months.

WhiteChickenChiliSoup

Here’s what you need:

  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 4 15.5 oz cans of Great Northern Beans
  • 2 cups shredded chicken
  • 1 small can diced green chilies
  • 1 tsp cumin (David’s favorite seasoning)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 cups shredded cheese

Here’s how you make it:

  • Combine all the ingredients into a large pot.
  • Simmer on low-medium heat for 20 to 30 minutes (or until heated through).
  • Right before serving, stir in the sour cream and cheese until it is all blended and melted.
MeWithChiliSoup

Yes, we just got a new kitchen table. And yes, we still eat dinner sitting on the couch.

I’m so glad David is doing a modified version of the Paleo diet; otherwise, we wouldn’t have been able to make this. (Beans and dairy are not allowed on a strict Paleo diet.)

Happy Friday, everyone! Have a fabulous weekend!

