Tags

, , , , ,

Last week the night before Thanksgiving, I decided to make yet another soup for dinner. I make dinner so rarely I feel like it’s a little special occasion every time I do it. You may have seen the photo of this soup on my FB or Instagram (@adventurerintraining). I received lots of likes and a couple of people inquiring about the recipe. The people have spoken! That means I must share the recipe for this Bacon Beer Cheese Soup with Chicken with you. :)

BaconCheeseSoupWithChicken

My unprofessional photo.

If you only prepare and eat healthy meals, you should leave right now. Just stop reading and exit out of this post. The soup was unhealthy, but oh so decadent and delicious. It was the perfect way to start the holiday weekend.

I found this recipe on Pinterest of course. I love seeing how the dish is supposed to look when it’s all done; plus, I love reading and looking at all types of blogs. Pinterest wins in so many ways.

Bacon Beer Cheese Soup with Chicken
from The Slow Roasted Italian

Source.

Her picture is so much better. Oh those food bloggers! Source.

Serves 6 to 8
(We only had a tiny bit of leftovers between David and I.)

Ingredients

  • 6 slices thick-cut bacon
  • 1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 flour
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground chile de arbol (or cayenne pepper; to taste)
    (David and I used 2 tsp of cayenne pepper and it was super spicy. I would suggest only using 1 tsp.)
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
    (I used the regular paprika that was in our spice rack.)
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
    (Again, I used the regular stuff and it was fine.)
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cup beer, Belgian style wheat beer (Blue Moon)
    (We used Blue Moon because it’s actually one of two beers I’ll drink.)
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 cups half and half
    (I warned you it was unhealthy!)
  • 8 ounces mild shredded cheddar cheese
    (We used sharp because we had a whole bag on hand.)
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • Chives
  • Croutons
    (We didn’t put any of these on, but you certainly can!)

Instructions

  • Warm an 8 quart pot over high heat. Using clean scissors, cut bacon into pot. Cook bacon until lightly crisp, stirring occasionally.
  • Meanwhile, cut chicken into bite size pieces.
  • Remove bacon from pan and place on a plate.
  • Add chicken into bacon grease to cook. Stir occasionally until chicken is cooked through. Remove chicken onto plate with bacon.
  • Cut butter into 1 tablespoon pieces and add to pan drippings. Whisk in flour and spices.
  • Add beer, broth, and half & half.  Whisk to combine and bring to a bubble.
  • Add cheese. Whisk to combine. Stir until you have a smooth mixture.  Add Worcestershire sauce, chicken, and bacon.  Stir to combine.
  • Allow to simmer until ready to serve, stirring occasionally.
  • Garnish with chives and croutons.

It takes less than 30 minutes to prepare, which is important to me — I don’t like taking a lot of time to cook. We both loved it, but agreed to go easy on the cayenne pepper next time.

Temperatures are really starting to dip here in Kansas City. It’s going to be in the 20s for the rest of the week. Yuck! Keep warm wherever you’re reading this. If anything you can warm up with a nice bowl of hearty soup. ;)

