Tags

, , , , , ,

Guys, I’m falling head over heels in love… with an exercise class. It’s a Les Mills one called BodyCombat.

I have always favored cardio over say pilates or yoga. I grew up playing soccer from the age of 5 through junior year of high school. I even tried out some step aerobic classes with my mom back in the day. You could see me in a Zumba class or a kickboxing class in college. And I’ve recently gotten into running within the past year or two.

When I purchased my gym membership a month or so ago, I was looking forward to group classes the most, especially Zumba and kickboxing. I tried Zumba, but it didn’t seem like much of a challenge. I would leave the class and wonder if I should run for a bit on the treadmill. Obviously, not what I was expecting to get out of a group exercise class.

Enter BodyCombat, a type of kickboxing class that combines karate, boxing, tae kwondo, tai chi, and muay thai. Because I’ve had experience with kickboxing before, it was relatively easy to pick back up on how to do jabs, upper cuts, and roundhouses again. It all felt familiar, but not at all comfortable because in between the jabs and the upper cuts, we’d do new-to-me moves, such as a matrix kicks (so very cool, but difficult to master). Familiar mixed with the challenge of mastering new moves. Yes, please. I never leave thinking I should do something more to get in a good workout. I’ve found my class!

I had to shout out to the world (or well, the Facebook world) how much I loved this class last night because we did the coolest fight sequence (with imaginary people). It was set to a remix of a Pirates of the Caribbean song. It was so awesome. Does that make me a dork? Whatever. It’s like we were playing Johnny Depp and punching from multiple angles and swinging an imaginary sword into the gut of our oppenent. Check out the video below to see what I’m talking about.

I am a sweaty mess after these classes, but I feel fabulous nonetheless. According to the Les Mills website, people who participate in the class burn 737 calories on average. I don’t doubt it at all.

Questions for you

  • Have you done group exercise classes before?
  • Which class has been your favorite?
