Tags

, ,

It took me awhile, but I finally feel like I’m getting into the Christmas spirit! This weekend definitely helped — it was filled with holiday activities.

Friday

David and I went to our company Christmas party. (Yep, we work at the same place.) I ate a ton and it was awesome. They served heavy hor d’oeuvres from Californos (like they did last year) instead of a sit-down meal. The mac and cheese was divine. It was the best part of the meal. I also enjoyed the mini (like half the size of your palm) pork tenderloin sandwiches, baked artichoke chile cheese spread, bruschetta, and chicken and bacon quesadillas. I should have taken a picture, but I was too hungry to slow down enough to take a snapshot!

They also brought in a photo booth again. Those things are fun, especially when they’re on someone else’s dime. ;) I went in it five times!

My coworkers are such a fun bunch. We had a grand 'ol time. Can you tell? :)

My coworkers are such a fun bunch. We had a grand ‘ol time. Can you tell? :)

Apparently, David and I think a good picture should have us with our mouth open. ha ha!

David was a good sport and did some pictures with me. We’re quite the goof balls!

David and I were both lucky in the gift card drawing. He won a $25 gift card to Target and I won a $50 Visa gift card. Woop woop! It helps a lot of people didn’t come to the party. I don’t get why people choose not to come. It’s free food and drinks, what is not to like?! Free food gets me every time. I swear I’m still a college student.

After David and I had our fill of delicious food, photo booth fun, and socializing, we came back home and cuddled with Dexter.

DexterChewingAntler

Saturday

I got up and went to the 9:30 a.m. BodyCombat class. You’d think I really like the class. ;) It takes a lot of discipline to get up early on a Saturday morning.

My afternoon was pretty chill. I worked on a graphic design project and belted out Christmas songs in my office. (David got to escape from it all; he saw a movie with his dad.)

That night we went to my friend Nicole’s annual ugly Christmas sweater party. She’s been throwing them since we were in college, so this may be the 6th or 7th year! I only own two Christmas sweaters. One is more ugly than the other with a crazy decked out christmas tree and the one I chose to wear to the party was more cutesy with little penguins across the front. I’ve rotated between the two sweaters throughout the years.

CuteChristmasSweater

I ended up bringing mini caprese skewers to the party to share. I thought they would be good to have in between all the sweets and the heavy dips. Plus, I’ve been craving fresh foods lately, especially bruschetta.

They were super easy to make. I cut a cherry tomato in half and put one half of the tomato on a toothpick. Added a small ball/pearl of fresh mozzarella onto the toothpick, along with a basil leaf, and then I put the other half of the tomato on the end. Once they were all assembled, I sprinkled salt and pepper on them and drizzled some balsamic vinegar over them. Although they weren’t a huge hit at the party, David and I loved them and thought they were quite addicting. I’ll definitely keep them in mind to make another time.

Because we’ve been going to this party year after year, the events (and their order) have become quite the tradition. We eat and mingle first and then we move on to a group game. We’ve been known to do holiday-themed pictionary, Minute to Win It games (based off the TV show), and Family Feud. This year we played Battle of the Sexes. The guys won. Boo.

Next, we do a gift exchange. It’s interesting to see what all people bring and receive! After that, we travel down to the basement where they have all sorts of games, including pool, air hockey, wii, bumper pool, and ping pong. Typically, we choose three games we’d like to play and then we participate in a tournament. But this year, we just played whatever we wanted and didn’t keep score. To cap off the night, we watch Christmas Vacation. Ever since I’ve been watching the Big Bang Theory, I can’t get over that Leonard is part of the Griswold family!

Sunday

The holiday events continued. David and I drove out to the Legends to buy a gift and then we went out and bought a Christmas tree. David and I typically don’t end up buying our Christmas tree until the 23rd or the 24th. There’s no particular reason for that. We are just procrastinators. I’m trying to be better this year about decorating earlier and so far I’m succeeding. Yes!

ChristmasTree2013

We put it in a different spot this year because I like how the furniture is arranged at the current moment, so I didn’t want to move any of it. The tree is right by the garage door. Here’s hoping we don’t fling the door open accidentally one day!

Questions for you

  • Do you go to your company Christmas parties?
  • Do you like them or go out of obligation?
