Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hi all!

I figure I better let you in on my busy social calendar for this month. Because before you know it, you’ll get recap posts and you’ll think, “Why didn’t she tell us?!”

Well, never fear — you’ll be in the loop in 3…2…1…

This coming holiday weekend I’m going on a girls weekend trip to Branson, Mo. Usually I’m not a big fan of Branson because it’s home to windy roads and gaudy shows and tourist shops. However, this trip will be different because we are not going to see any shows and I’ll be driving (which will help combat the motion sickness I get with those windy roads). Instead, we’re going to go outlet mall shopping, wine tasting, and simply relax at a huge house we’re renting. When I say huge, I mean a house that contains: six king beds, three queen sleepers, two full sleepers, two big screen TVs, six TVs with DVD players (one in each bedroom), pool table, air hockey table, a full kitchen, and wifi. I don’t think we could possibly need anything else for the seven of us.

This girls weekend trip is turning out to be an annual gathering, which is exciting! It’s good to take time to hang out with friends and leave the guys at home. Last year at this time (Martin Luther King Jr. weekend) we stayed in a condo in the Lake of the Ozarks and did exactly what we plan on doing this year: shopping and going to a wine tasting.

After our girls weekend trip, it’s my birthday on the 22nd! I’m going to be 26. Not sure how I feel about it. Indifferent? Eh well. I’m just looking forward to the celebration! I planned out two celebrations this year because since we’re getting older and all, not a lot of my friends enjoy going out and dancing at clubs anymore. But I still do. To (hopefully) make everyone happy (which in turn makes me happy), I plan to go out that Friday night to Power and Light, my favorite Kansas City entertainment district, and then on Saturday, go out to eat and then have a movie gathering at my house. Option 1: party fun. Option 2: laid back time with friends. Friends can choose to go to one or both. I win either way. I’m crossing my fingers this plan will work out!

Even though I’m going shopping this holiday weekend and my birthday is coming up, it didn’t stop me from going on a shopping spree this past weekend. Whoops. Here’s all the goodies I got.

Squirrel jewelry tree (Target), iPhone armband (Sports Authority), brown riding boots ($60! Off Broadway), and a Keurig K-cup holder that spins (Bed Bath and Beyond).

Squirrel jewelry tree (Target), iPhone armband (Sports Authority), brown riding boots ($60! Off Broadway), and a Keurig K-cup holder that spins (Bed Bath and Beyond).

Close up of the squirrel.

Close up of the squirrel.

I've been eyeing this for a long time. I cashed in my Pier 1 points for a nice discount.

I’ve been eyeing this for a long time. I cashed in my Pier 1 points for a nice discount. Looks like I’m starting to work on my decorate the house resolution…

I’m hoping I have the same success on this shopping trip coming up. Then again, I have to remember that I have to bring it all back with four other people in my car…

Oh and this has been happening.

30DayAbChallenge

My abs are my least favorite part of my body. I only show my stomach when I’m wearing a swimsuit. I would rather get in ab workouts during cardio exercises than strictly focus on them after a workout. But, I realize they won’t get stronger unless I try harder. Enter my friend Cayla. She has been kicking butt with getting healthy and integrating a fitness routine into her life. She was challenging friends on Instagram and Facebook to join her in this 30 Day Ab Challenge. I wanted to lend the small support I could and try to get my abs into better shape. So, I accepted the challenge! It’s going as well as it can so far — I haven’t missed any days yet (even if it means doing it in my pajamas)! Today I have to do 45 sit ups, 30 crunches, 30 leg lifts, and a 38 sec. plank. Sheesh. I can’t imagine what the second half of the 30 days will feel like. I may die.

Talk to you kids later! Have a good week!

