Tags

, , ,

I was quite the concert-goer in February. Justin Timberlake at the beginning of the month and Jason Aldean at the end of the month. Come to think of it, those two concerts also accurately represent my taste in music: pop and country.

This past Friday, my friend, Brandi, and I went to the Sprint Center to see Jason Aldean and Florida Georgia Line. She won tickets to the concert — score! I am always up for a free concert.

A little blurry, but still a good picture of us!

A little blurry, but still a good picture of us!

I thoroughly enjoyed the concert because he sang all the songs I knew! (I made a playlist on Spotify that included everything on the setlist, excluding the covers he did. Check it out here.) I also liked it because his music took me back to my college days. I went to Pittsburg State University in Pittsburg, Kan. It’s a small town that has a country feel to it. David and I frequently went to the local country bar on the outskirts of town with friends to dance to George Strait, Brooks and Dunn, Dierks Bentley, and Jason Aldean. I remember when Aldean’s “Amarillo Sky” came out. It felt like such simpler times back then. Oh college, I miss you some days.

While I listened to the songs at the concert, my mind drifted to how it would be fun to be a little bit country.

  • I could go to bonfires more.

Bonfire

We used to have one at least once a year in college. They were so much fun. Drinking, talking, and taking in the cool evening air. That’s it. Someone even brought a couch one year to sit on by the fire.

MeAtBonfire

I promise I was happy. This was just one of theĀ least incriminating best pictures I could find.

MeAndDavidAtBonfire

Here’s a better one.

  • David and I could head out into the country and lay in the bed of his truck with lots of blankets and pillows. We could stargaze and drink some whiskey.

    CuddlingInTruck

  • We wouldn’t even have to drive to a destination, we could drive around and listen to music. We, in fact, did this regularly when we were in college. We didn’t even think of the gas money. It was a time to ourselves, so we didn’t care.
  • I could go two-steppin’ more. David taught me how to two-step at Twister’s (that country bar I mentioned earlier). But because we’re up here in a big city and our friends don’t love country music, we don’t ever go and two-step anymore.
  • I would take more time to appreciate the simple things, like the scenery.
The Kansas plains. Source.

The Kansas plains. Source.

  • If I lived in the country, I’d be away from the hustle and bustle of the city suburbs and perhaps be the only person for miles and miles (cue Dixie Chick’s “Cowboy Take Me Away”).
MeInCowboyHat

Me at my friend Mimi’s sorority cowboy and cowgirl party.

For right now, though, I’ll just have to do what I’ve been doing: listening to country music and daydreaming. And take the first opportunity to go out with David and lay in his truck bed with loads of pillows and blankets, obviously. Come on spring and summer, get here already.

