Tags

, , , ,

Look! Look! I’m writing a second post, just as I promised! Mark this one down in the books. ;)

Let’s start from where we left off yesterday. After our double date with Joey and Nicole, David headed to Westport with a friend to grab drinks and I headed to Starlight with my frequent-concert-goer friend, Mary, for the Backstreet Boys concert! I was pretty chill about the whole thing until we got to the parking lot and then excitement hit me hard. I was going to see the Backstreet Boys! We were on a trip back to the 90s and I was pumped for it.

Avril Lavigne opened for the boys. She looked so tiny. (We sat in the back of the venue {you can’t beat $18 tickets!}, so that may have played a part.) She played all her hit songs, along with one or two other ones I didn’t know. She still looked like the pop punk princess I remembered — wearing a shirt with a skeleton on it and completing the outfit with a tutu.

IMG_3106

During the break between Avril and BSB, Mary and I chatted about what songs we wanted to hear. (She has already seen them a handful of times, so she had an idea of what to expect.) I really wanted them to sing “Quit Playing Games (With My Heart)” (and all the other songs from their very first album) and “The Call.” She really wanted them to sing “The Call,” too. Guess what they played first?! Once I heard those first notes, I was immediately transported to the past — a time where I was playing Mario Kart on Nintendo 64 at a friend’s house; a time where my friend, Jess, and I would sing BSB songs around the campfire on a Girl Scout overnight; a time where I would listen to these songs and think about my crush and he would have no idea I even liked him; and a time where I frequently went to skating parties and watched others skate to these love songs during the couple skates.

Now, I must admit, I was Team Nsync back in the day, so I would rarely say I liked the Backstreet Boys and I would never say I liked them more than Nsync. Ever. I still love Nsync more, but because it’s been 10 years or so, I think it’s OK for me to say I like them both. *gasp* I’m an adult now and I do what I want. :) Mary asked me which member of the band I liked best. I just kind of stared at her for a moment. I mean, I was always Team Nsync, I never had to ask myself this question. It was always a mute point. Apparently from my reaction to Brian I am a Brian girl. He has gorgeous abs, so I’m completely OK with this decision.

Speaking of abs, that reminds me of the dancing. The boys still men have it, ladies. They did their choreographed dances from back in the day. Why mess with perfection? They were sauve, sexy, charming, and heartfelt — such a good mixture — making it a wonderfully entertaining show.

IMG_3107

Here is a complete list of the songs they performed for us on their In a World Like This Tour.

  1. The Call
  2. Don’t Want You Back
  3. Incomplete
  4. Permanent Stain
  5. All I Have to Give
  6. As Long as You Love Me
  7. Show ‘Em (What You’re Made Of)
  8. Show Me the Meaning of Being Lonely
  9. Breathe
  10. I’ll Never Break Your Heart
  11. We’ve Got it Goin’ On
  12. Safest Place to Hide (a cappella)
  13. 10,000 Promises (acoustic)
  14. Madeleine (acoustic)
  15. Quit Playing Games (With My Heart) (acoustic)
  16. The One
  17. Love Somebody
  18. Shape of My Heart
  19. In a World Like This
  20. I Want It That Way

Encore

  1. Everybody (Backstreet’s Back)
  2. Larger Than Life

As you can see they sprinkled in some new songs from their latest album. It turned out to be for every two or three throwback songs, they tossed in a new one. You could tell the audience came out for the old stuff (like me) because they didn’t scream and sing as much with the latest songs. I think BSB knew this, too. They kept asking, “Hey, raise your hand if you have ALL of our CDs.” Did they want to make the rest of us feel guilty for not having them all? Not sure. But I could tell they were getting at something.

IMG_3118

IMG_3121

Oh, and you can also see they switched things up a bit and played some acoustic and a cappella stuff. They made sure to say boy bands don’t typically do this. They did a nice job, but their peppy dance music is my favorite and probably always will be.

I couldn’t tell ya what my favorite song was. I was just so happy to take a blast to the past and to hear all the songs I wanted to hear. (Side note: It REALLY WAS a blast to the past because two friends from our high school sat right in front of us. We took a little reunion picture!)

Me, Mary, Laura, and Rachel

Me, Mary, Laura, and Rachel

Do you like the Backstreet Boys? Which throwback/90s group would you want to go see (doesn’t matter if they are currently on tour or not)?

I’d love to Nsync back together again (obviously), but that Justin has his own thing going on so I doubt we’ll ever see a reunion (or not for a very long time).

