There are few things I have solid opinions about, but this is one of them. The common event that usually sets me off and makes me want to go into full-on rant mode is when I ask how someone at work is doing and he (or she) responds with: “Well, it isn’t Friday.” (More often than not, it’s a Tuesday or Wednesday.) Or when someone tells me they are ready for the weekend and it’s Monday morning.

Really?! Are you kidding me?!

I get that the weekend is great, I really do. But the weekend is only 2 days out of your entire week — 28.6% to be exact. It is ridiculous if your sole reason for living is for that 29% (we’ll round up). Wouldn’t 100% (or 80% or 90%!) of your week be better? I vote for that.

Start making every day count. You only get one life. Live it well and stop wishing your life away.

I have this poster hanging on my home office wall and I love how it constantly reminds me to rise above daily life and see the big picture. You are the creator of your own happiness. You are the only one responsible for how much you enjoy life. I know bad days happen, but don’t let them get you completely down. Have a drive and a passion for getting out of bed in the morning and conquering the day. You are worthy of a wonderful and beautiful life. Don’t let anyone ever tell you differently.

If you need a little push in the right direction to enjoy Monday through Thursday, here are some of my suggestions.

// Don’t like your job? Get a new one. I know it’s tough, I’ve been there. Believe me. I’m sure you’ve heard the quote: “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” (Confucius) Now, obviously there are some hang-ups with every job and you won’t love it all the time, but aim to enjoy the majority of it. And at the very least, it needs to be tolerable. You don’t want it to be excruciatingly painful to go to work day after day. Make sure you’re OK with the place you spend most of your waking hours.

// Make time for fun things during the week. Who says you have to wait until the weekend to go try that new restaurant or see that movie you’ve been wanting to catch for awhile? Go to Taco Tuesday or watch the game at a local bar and grill. No need to deny yourself fun simply because it’s a Wednesday.

// Treat yourself. Want to grab an iced caramel coffee from Starbucks during lunch? Do it. Want to have something different than your ordinary turkey sandwich? Go out to lunch.

// See friends during the week. If you’re tired of TV or are in need of a chatfest, call your friends and meet up. You don’t have to wait until the weekend. If anything, it’ll give you a positive boost for the rest of the week. Bonus points if you try a new restaurant together.

// Have a drink. Why not take the opportunity to have that glass or bottle of wine or bottle of beer? No one says alcohol can only be consumed on weekends. Just in moderation, though, if you like to function properly at work the next day. ;)

Source.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

// Engage in some wanderlust. I love me some travel and I bet you do, too. But we can’t be on vacation all the time, so I suggest searching good ‘ol Pinterest for some beach photos or some picturesque photos of Greece or whatever strikes your fancy. If that makes you happy, great. If not, start making a list and a plan for how to get to that dream place of yours. Lots of bonus points for you if you go that route!

// Work out. Exercise gives you endorphins and endorphins make you happy. Enough said. Plus, it’s just good for your health.

// Enjoy the relaxing everyday moments, like eating dinner, watching TV on the couch, and going to bed. This comes easier to a busy person like me. I seriously love the feeling of lying down at the end of the day and feeling the sheets on my bare feet. If your routine has become mundane, try a new recipe or watch a movie. Switch it up a bit.

// Check a task off of your to-do list. Who doesn’t love being productive? Strike a perfect balance by tackling a small task you’ve been meaning to do — organizing the pantry or ordering photos — and then reward yourself for the rest of the evening and relax. You’ll feel a sense of accomplishment and less overwhelmed by your seemingly never-ending to-do list.

If you need some more inspiration, I also suggest you check out:

I’m sure I’m missing something. So tell me, what do you do to enjoy Monday through Thursday?

