Tags

, , , ,

Hello there!

As you’re reading this, David and I will be on the road, heading to Colorado. We wanted to take full advantage of Labor Day weekend and our long road trip to Utah, so we’re making some stops along the way to break up the trip. David has never been to Colorado, so we’re snatching the perfect opportunity to visit since we’re heading west! And I haven’t been in 10 years! Can you believe that?! I’m taking him to the tourist places I remember enjoying, including:

// Pike’s Peak

We plan on taking the cog railroad to the top! Source.

We plan on taking the cog railroad to the top! Source.

// Garden of the Gods

And because David is a big beer fan, we’re throwing in a New Belgium brewery tour. (And he’s hoping we’ll have time to pack in an Odell Brewing Company tour, as well.)

After our time in Colorado, we’re taking the next day or two to drive to Kanab, Utah, our meeting spot for our Grand Canyon Backpacking Trip that starts Thursday! I can’t believe it’s time to go on this trip. I’m still excited and nervous, but mostly excited.

We spent countless hours training for this and it all boils down to this trip. Part of me wishes I snuck in some more weight training sessions, but nevertheless, I’m looking forward to the trip and I know I’ll be able to endure whatever comes my way.

I had planned to write a post about how to train for a backpacking trip, but as always, time got away from me. But perhaps it’ll be better if I write it after the trip — that way I’ll know if the plan worked or not! There aren’t too many in-depth training resources out there for backpacking that go beyond the “get in shape” step, so I want to help fill the gaps and outline what specifically to do.

Anyways, enough of that, let’s get to the subject of this post.

I’m looking forward to…

// Feeling small. I’m ready to experience the grand-ness of the Grand Canyon — literally something bigger than myself.

// The desert. I’ve never seen the desert. I hope to fall in love with the way the red-orange rocks look against a brilliant blue sky.

// The road trip, of course. I hope it’s filled with lots of musicĀ listening, coffee drinking, and fun and thoughtful conversations.

// Meeting new people. We had a terrific group last year and I feel we really lucked out. I’m even Facebook friends with two of them! I hope we have the same luck this year and really love our guides. At the same time, though, a part of me is not looking forward to meeting our group. What if we don’t get along for some reason? That would make for a long trip!

// Taking photos. I’m dusting off my DSLR and putting it to good use. I hope to bring back some travel eye candy for you!

This will be my last post for you before we get back, as we’re about to jump in the car now and get this show on the road! I’m sure we’ll post numerous photos on Instagram, so be sure to follow me @AdventurerInTraining.

Have a terrific Labor Day weekend, all!

